Lent 2010

February 17, 2010 at 11:57 am 1 comment

I’m not a great Catholic. I try, but it’s hard.

Especially all this no-meat, fasting business. I have a hard time personally drawing that line between what Christ preached in the gospels about sacrifice and service, and having clam chowder every Friday for six weeks. (I’m being glib, I know.)

This year, though, I’m giving something up. Dessert and sweets.

(Note to self: Do NOT look up “chocolate” in Google Images again until Lent is OVER.)

Because it’s my road to travel, I’m defining it pretty tightly as anything that would commonly be considered a “dessert” or a “sweet.” So no more chocolate pudding with my lunch, or vending machine candy bars in the late afternoon when I get a craving, or evening runs to Baskin Robbins for a two-scoop dish of Rocky Road and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough.

(Man, that’s a pretty decadent life I lead, isn’t it?)

I will however still have sugar in my coffee, and a little sugar on my cereal in the mornings. I’m not crazy. The jury is out on donuts for breakfast; deep down I know they probably count as “sweets” but every Friday morning we have a freaking BUFFET of donuts, bagels, pastries, and fruit. I don’t know if I can be that strong in the face of such temptation.

We’ll see how this goes. Chocolate especially is a big release for me, in terms of personal tension and anxiety. If I go without too long, I seriously get irritable. Sad but true. This means I’m going to be hell to live with for the next six weeks. But hopefully, I’ll lose a few pounds, and get a bit more prayerful, and be able to continue the streak after Lent so I can live a bit more healthy.

That, or the avalanche of chocolate bunnies on Easter will push me back into my ugly old lifestyle.

Entry filed under: Meta. Tags: , , , .

The Fall of the Roman Grant Rekkids: David Bowie, “Heroes”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jeff  |  February 19, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Ahhhh…. I remember being Catholic. Today, for lunch, I think I will have something meaty.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


WTF?

Unsolicited opinions, snarky comments, and links aplenty—one man’s endless journey through the wild, wacky worlds of pop culture, fatherhood, and life in Central Florida.

Buy My Book!

Alert Nerd Press is an independent boutique publishing house dedicated to bringing you fiction and commentary, centered on all things geeky. Our debut release is Unconventional, a tale of sex, booze, and geeks taking place over three fateful days at UnCon, Chicagoland's largest sci-fi convention. You may buy it or download it as a free PDF.

You said…

Flickr Photos

A Musical Note

I occasionally post mp3s on this blog, intended for illustrative purposes. If you are an artist who objects to my limited use of your music, please drop me a line and I will be happy to modify or remove the track. If you are a scary music industry lawyer, grow a FUCKING SOUL, and/or send me a Cease & Desist.

Join My E-mail List!

Google Groups
Alert Nerd
Visit this group

Old and busted.